Here you will find essays and reflections on emerging post-Christian culture (Ex-Aisle), unusual homiletic resources to help us rethink how we read the scriptures (LecTurn), book reviews and shorter pieces on religion, faith, politics and society.



Sermon for Saint Hugh
10 November 2021 | Martyn Percy


Homily
DOWNLOAD

Nuts and Bolts III – The Governance Review of the Church of England
27 September 2021 | Martyn Percy

Ecclesiology and Pastoral-Practical Theology, Meander, Social and Moral Theology,
A Reflective Follow-Up
DOWNLOAD

Nuts and Bolts II - The Governance Review of the Church of England
23 September 2021 | Martyn Percy

Ecclesiology and Pastoral-Practical Theology, Meander, Social and Moral Theology,
Nuts and Bolts II - The Governance Review of the Church of England
DOWNLOAD

Nuts and Bolts I - The Governance Review of the Church of England
23 September 2021 | Martyn Percy

Ecclesiology and Pastoral-Practical Theology, Meander, Social and Moral Theology,
Nuts and Bolts I - The Governance Review of the Church of England
DOWNLOAD

The Great Leap Forward
07 July 2021 | Martyn Percy

Christianity and Contemporary Culture, Ecclesiology and Pastoral-Practical Theology, Education Matters, Social and Moral Theology,
The Church of England Embraces the Church Growth Movement (again)
DOWNLOAD


Religion in Era of Pandemics
05 July 2021 | Martyn Percy

Lectures Sermons and Formation,
Faith and belief in an age of plague...
DOWNLOAD

Learning from the Eunuch
16 May 2021 | Martyn Percy

Education Matters, Lectures Sermons and Formation, Social and Moral Theology,
This Essay - in two parts - examines the account of the baptism of the Ethiopian Eunuch and its implications, including notes for preachers on sexuality, transgender and sexual abuse.
DOWNLOAD

The Queen, Virtues and Civic Society
24 February 2021 | Martyn Percy

Lectures Sermons and Formation, Social and Moral Theology,
What values and virtues do we look for in our monarch?
DOWNLOAD

Martha and Mary
24 February 2021 | Martyn Percy

Ecclesiology and Pastoral-Practical Theology, Lectures Sermons and Formation,
Reflecting on the nature of Help
DOWNLOAD

Sermon to Commemorate the Birth of Harold Wilson
24 February 2021 | Martyn Percy

Social and Moral Theology,
...Labour, Politics and Society explored...
DOWNLOAD


Some Sociological Scribblings on Anglican Polity
24 February 2021 | Martyn Percy

Ecclesiology and Pastoral-Practical Theology, Social and Moral Theology,
...why class, ethnicity, gender and sexuality get lost in the pursuit for numerical success
DOWNLOAD

Is There a Biblical Concept of Marriage?
24 February 2021 | Martyn Percy

Social and Moral Theology,
A Theologian explores biblical ideas of marriage...
DOWNLOAD

Is There a Biblical Ideal of the Nuclear Family?
24 February 2021 | Martyn Percy

Social and Moral Theology,
A Theologian explores biblical patterns of family life...
DOWNLOAD

An Anglican Preface to the Wijngaards Project
19 February 2021 | Martyn Percy

Ecclesiology and Pastoral-Practical Theology,
An Anglican Theologian welcomes the recent work by Hans Wijngaards...
DOWNLOAD

Reasonable Radical?
01 December 2020 | Martyn Percy

Books, Christianity and Contemporary Culture,
Reading the Writings of Martyn Percy: This book is two books in one. The first half contains a series of articles (written both by church leaders and academics) that serve as substantial, critical introductions to Percy's thought. In the second half, the reader gets to hear from Percy himself in a collection of wide-ranging material from his corpus.
AVAILABLE ON AMAZON

A full review can be read in the AEH: Anglican & Episcopal History. (pp 443-445)
REVIEW


The Humble Church: Renewing the Body of Christ
19 February 2021 | Martyn Percy

Books, Christianity and Contemporary Culture,
In this bold and provocative invitation, Martyn Percy imagines what the post - pandemic Church might look like and sets out what it needs to learn. It argues that the Church needs to stop obsessing about itself – its size, its strategies to shore up decline, its waning public influence – and rediscover how to live as the body of Christ.
AVAILABLE ON AMAZON
REVIEW

Candlemas 2021: Trinity College Oxford
01 January 2021 | Martyn Percy

Lectures Sermons and Formation,
Candlemas is an amazing festival. Originating back as far as the 5th century, it was the feast for blessing the candles of church, as well as commemorating the encounter of Joseph, Mary and Jesus with Simeon and Anna. It is the last childhood ‘snapshot’ that we have of Jesus.
DOWNLOAD

Candlemas 2020: Anna Chaplaincy Sermon
01 January 2020 | Martyn Percy

Lectures Sermons and Formation,
Isolation, alienation and loneliness are some of the biggest challenges we face in our age. Despite our highly ‘networked society’, many find – for a variety of reasons – that they are more distant then ever from their neighbours, relatives and any immediate sources of support.
DOWNLOAD

No Way Back: The Promise of Easter in a Post-Covid-19 Society
11 November 2020 | Martyn Percy

Lectures Sermons and Formation,
Archbishop Justin: once this epidemic is conquered we cannot be content to go back to what was before as if all was normal…there needs to be a resurrection of our common life, a new normal, something that links to the old but is different and more beautiful.”
DOWNLOAD

Sermon for Down Ampney Festival and Feast of St. Bartholomew
11 November 2020 | Martyn Percy

Lectures Sermons and Formation,
For the record, I don’t believe in reincarnation. But if I did, and if I had to be reincarnated as an animal, I would come back as a St. Bernard dog. I have my reasons. First, I’d like to be a saint, and this is as about close as I’ll get. Second, I believe in searching for the lost.
DOWNLOAD


Emergent Archiepiscopal Leadership
10 November 2020 | Martyn Percy

Ecclesiology and Pastoral-Practical Theology,
Each Archbishop of Canterbury has a distinctive style of 6 leadership. To some extent, this will always be shaped and 7 framed by prevalent contemporary cultures of leadership 8 that are to be found within wider society.
DOWNLOAD

Humility, Humiliation and Hope
03 November 2020 | Martyn Percy

Ecclesiology and Pastoral-Practical Theology,
Over thirty years ago, I was preparing for ordination in the Church of England. As part of my training, I was despatched on placement to a remote rural parish, where I found myself one day being assessed on my skills leading a Bible Study.
DOWNLOAD

Mission and Ministry After the Decade of Evangelism
12 November 2020 | Martyn Percy

Ecclesiology and Pastoral-Practical Theology,
A few years ago, we crossed an un-marked line in the developmental life of the Church of England. The best-selling report ever produced by the Church of England had been Faith in the City. Published in 1985, it engaged seriously with the decay and despair in our inner-city communities.
DOWNLOAD

In Trump We Trust?
10 November 2020 | Martyn Percy

Christianity and Contemporary Culture,
The inauguration of Donald Trump as the 45th President of the USA took place exactly one year ago on Friday, January 20, 2017. Many watched open-mouthed as Trump, in his maiden speech, repeatedly invoked the new Presidential agenda: “America First!”.
DOWNLOAD

New Era? From BC to AC
18 November 2020 | Martyn Percy

Christianity and Contemporary Culture,
It is far too early to speculate on whether the government ‘road maps’ for a post-Brexit-Britain, and a post-pandemic-UK will be adequate. Time only moves forward, and we have certainly arrived – unprepared, at speed – to a new epoch in our age. Our 21st Century threshold is ushering in a new ‘BC’ and ‘AC’ – Before Coronavirus and After Coronavirus.
DOWNLOAD


A Plague of Numbers
01 October 2019 | Martyn Percy

Education Matters,
We have tended to view this tragic pandemic of seventeenth century London through rather rose-tinted spectacles. Our present political leaders have, to a large extent, paid little attention to similarities in the dynamics that made London a no-go area in
DOWNLOAD

Anglican Cathedrals in a Secular Society
01 November 2020 | Martyn Percy

Christianity and Contemporary Culture,
One of the puzzles in our secular age is the resurgence in attendance at English Cathedrals. Whilst it is commonplace for sociologists and media - and sometimes church leaders - to draw attention to burgeoning membership in evangelical and charismatic churches, the Cathedrals of the CofE.
DOWNLOAD

Good Grief: The Other Curve
01 November 2019 | Martyn Percy

Education Matters,
Grief is normal. It is one price we pay for love. It is part of what it is to be a person – because we cannot be a person unless we are in communion with others, so we are always bonded.
DOWNLOAD